Member States

Membership of the Union

It should be recognized that membership of the CPU relates to meetings, as far as 1972 of Postmasters General of the Caribbean Commonwealth Countries. Those meetings addressed various operational issues, of which, mail exchanges between the region and the USA, Canada and the UK was critical. Within the context of the EU-ACP relation, the idea came up to establish a restricted union for addressing developmental issues.

However, under the “Lome IV Agreement”, all ACP parties in the Caribbean region should become beneficiaries in this project which was to be funded by the EU. Subsequently, the Dutch, French and Spanish speaking Caribbean states were taken onboard.
Presently 25 English, French, Spanish and Dutch speaking Caribbean Postal Administrations have signed up for membership of the CPU.
In addition the USA, Canada, France, the United Kingdom and the Netherlands are also members.